IVATA Special Meeting Conference Call

Tuesday, February 07, 2012

Meeting called to order at 12:16 By Nate Low.

Members present:

Nate Low – President Pat Dixon – Pres Elect Nicole Lebsack – Sec Elect Cody Park – SUSR Director Jon Hogge – NUSR Director Kevin Wells – SEID Director Holly Church – NMV Director Amy Nichols – CTEI Rep Brian Wolf – SMV Director JR Morrow – NID Director Marc Beitia – EMV Director Shawn Dygert – Legislative Liaison Dr. Jim Connors – UI AE&4-HYD Ben Meyer - SDPTE Kyle Stapleton – Past Pres Kevin Barker – WID Director

Guests present:

Laura Wilder – ID FFA Foundation

Members absent

Val Johnson – Secretary Jack Blattner – BV Director Alan Heikkila – Exe. Treasurer

Nomination Committee Coordinator at the 2012 SLC will be Lance Zollinger.

Topic of Discussion:

Discussion opened for comments on the previous decision regarding the Nomination Committee Coordinator. In the past the decision has been up to Ben Meyer at the State Office, however at Mid-Winter IVATA Leadership and Board of Directors submitted a list of qualified candidates for Nomination Committee and Justin Patten was recommended as the Coordinator.

Alan Heikkila submitted a motion, via email to Nate Lowe. The motion read: "Mr. Chairman- I move to rescind the motion to select the nominating committee chair as presented at the IVATA Mid-Winter meeting." Motion was seconded by Marc Beitia.

Discussion Points:

- Justin Patten was only recommended as a coordinator. No official motion was made at Mid-Winter to make him Coordinator.
- Duane and Tracy's names were not on the list.
- The motion from summer conference read "Motion that each district bring a name of an adult to serve on the Nominating Committee to Mid-Winter, where three would be chosen from the nine names by Kyle Stapleton. Seconded. Motion passed."
- Bank of names were intended to be voting members of Nomination Committee not the Coordinator position. However, the Coordinator can come from the list of names.
- Does the motion to rescind stand if there was not a motion to select the Nom Com Coordinator.

The second was withdrawn by Marc Beitia.

Kevin Barker moved to have Lance Zollinger appointed as Coordinator of the Nomination Committee. Seconded.

Discussion Points:

- Idaho FFA Constitution states that the chair is selected by the Nom Com Committee.
- The chair is selected from the group at SLC. The Coordinator has historically been chosen by the State FFA Advisor/Program Director.

Kevin withdrew his motion and second was withdrawn.

Kevin Barker moved that IVATA write a letter to the Fishers thanking them for their leadership roles within the FFA, past efforts, and that we are moving in a new direction with the Nomination Committee. Motion passed.

Discussion Points:

- Ben urged the letter writer to send a copy to Laura Wilder.
- Nate will write the letter and work with Laura.

It was moved that we refer the decision to determine a term period for Nomination Coordinator and a rotation to the FFA Relations Committee. Seconded, motion passed.

Following a discussion about conflicting roles of IVATA leadership/Board of Directors and Idaho FFA Advisory Council in the IVATA and FFA Constitution and Bylaws the motion was made by Kevin Barker to create a special committee appointed by the chair to review FFA and IVATA constitution and bylaws and submit proposed revisions to IVATA. Motion was adopted.

Discussion Points:

- Intermingling of IVATA and Idaho FFA Advisory Council.
- From the FFA Constitution: Advisory Council includes 9 district advisors, the state advisor and teacher educators.
- A motion needs to be taken to SLC to get rid of the governing body and changed to IVATA <u>or</u> start adhering to the constitution.
- Bylaws changes need to be discussed at Summer Conference and then sent on to delegates.

Kevin moved to adjourn. Motion was passed.

Meeting Adjourned at 1:18 pm

Nicole Lebsack IVATA Secretary Elect